Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
J.d. tutors in Buffalo, NY

J.d. M.

Private tutor in Buffalo, NY

Education

Previous degree in English Literature. Current sophomore/junior Computer Science & Engineering student at UB with a 3.81/4.00 GPA.

Experience

** UPDATE: My leg injury has more or less healed, and I am able to drive again. ** Hi there! I'm J.D. My hourly rate is $40. My experience is listed below. I don't charge for the first half-hour of my first visit. That way you have an opportunity to get acquainted with me without fear of wasting your money. So long as you're within 15 minutes of Williamsville, I won't charge for driving. Between 15 and 30 minutes is $10 per session. Driving 30 minutes and up, it's $10 plus my hourly rate beyond the 30 minutes (so a 45 minute drive is $20 per session). I will use Google Maps from my address to yours to determine the rate. Below is a little bit about me, including my qualifications for the various areas of study that are listed above: ~~~ Math: By far my most requested subject group. I scored a 5 on the AP Calculus AB exam, and earned an A in General Calculus I at UB with the second highest score in the class. Additionally, I scored scores of 100, 99, and 98 respectively on Course I, II, and III math in high school (which each covered Algebra, Geometry/Trig, and Algebra 2, respectively). I earned an A in Discrete Structures at UB, one of the most notoriously difficult courses on campus (this is coming from someone who took a year of Orgo). I will help you through these beasts! ~~~ Computer Topics: I worked in the IT field for a decade, having built and repaired countless computers and peripherals of all types. I am highly skilled with a variety of software titles, most especially Word and Excel. I used to teach for a private company one-on-one and group classes in all the popular Microsoft titles. I understand digital logic design (gates, state diagrams, K-maps, you name it) and the hardware description language Verilog. I also can teach programming in Java and C#, as well as HTML/CSS/JQuery. I am a computer science student-- this will be my life. ~~~ Physics and Other Sciences: For a period, I thought I wanted to be a doctor, so took all the pre-med requirements. These are my courses and grades: Gen Chem 1 [A], Gen Chem 2 [A], Organic Chem 1 [A], Organic Chem 2 [A], Organismal Bio [B+], Cell Bio (with honors) [A], Biochemistry [A-], Physics 1 [A], Physics 2 [A-]. These courses have not been expanded upon since I took them, so I'd only feel comfortable tutoring on a per-topic basis-- nothing structured. I would need adequate prep time and specific materials with which you need assistance in order to properly review. ~~~ English: I have a degree in English with an emphasis on writing skills. I decided to go back to school for engineering for greater vocational success. I have been published. I have also worked as an assistant editor, and volunteered as an ESL one-on-one tutor to great success at Binghamton University. ~~~ ADD, Study Skills, Organization: I was diagnosed with ADD when I was 7 years old and have plenty of experience dealing with it from all angles: coping with it around others, focusing on what's important, learning effective study habits, harnassing hyperfocusing for one's benefit, and learning the different effects of stimulant medications (Ritalin, Adderall, etc.).

Availability

Tues/Thurs in the evening, Sunday at any time

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 30 minutes away for a flat fee, Up to 45 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Besides what's mentioned above, I am a part-time EMT (CPR certified, of course) with nearing 4 years experience in 2 regions of the state. I know the emergency healthcare industry far too well. I love astronomy. I used to have one of those home planetarium things when I was a kid, and since then it has been a constant point of interest. When not studying or working, I'm singing, playing guitar, playing games, cooking, reading, playing with my cat, or going to World Gym. I also have an insane music and movie library, and am an avid Simpsons fan.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!